How a Hong Kong crypto bank actually works
When people search for a "Hong Kong crypto bank", they usually mean one thing: buying Bitcoin in the same app where their salary lands. As of October 2026 that is possible at two banks, ZA Bank and Mox, and at several brokers, including Futu, Tiger Brokers and Victory Securities. None of them runs its own unlicensed exchange. Under joint SFC and HKMA rules, banks and brokers may only offer crypto by partnering with SFC-licensed trading platforms, either as an introducing agent or by running an omnibus account at the platform on behalf of all their clients.
ZA Bank and Mox both route to HashKey Exchange, with HashKey's custody arm holding the coins. Futu now uses PantherTrade, its own licensed platform. Tiger Brokers uses YAX, its group's licensed platform. Victory Securities has its own group platform, Victory Fintech (VDX), licensed in February 2026. The practical consequence of the omnibus model is the single most important thing to know about these apps: clients generally deposit and withdraw fiat only, so the coins you buy stay inside the app.
Fees and features compared
Fee schedules in this corner of the market change often, and several banks publish them only inside the app. The table shows what we could find as of 6 October 2026, with secondary figures marked. The last column is the question most readers end up caring about.
| App | Retail coins | Headline fee | On HK$10,000 | Coins out? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZA Bank | BTC, ETH (SOL, AVAX, LINK reported) | 1.5% + HK$15 per trade [secondary] | ≈ HK$165 | No |
| Mox | BTC, ETH, SOL | $0 buy commission to 31 Dec 2026; standard rate unconfirmed | HK$0 commission (promo) | No |
| Futu / PantherTrade | BTC, ETH and others | Zero commission at 2024 launch; current schedule unconfirmed | Unconfirmed | USDT in reported |
| Tiger / YAX | BTC, ETH, SOL, AVAX, LINK | 0.05% handling fee; $0 commission and platform fee | ≈ HK$5 | Not stated |
| Victory / VictoryX | “20+ crypto” (retail subset) | 0.2% + 0.02% platform fee (min US$2) | ≈ HK$36 | Token in/out |
Official pages: Tiger, Mox, Victory (6 Oct 2026). ZA Bank and Futu figures from secondary sources or 2024 announcements. Spreads not included. HK$10,000 examples use US$1 ≈ HK$7.8.
App by app
ZA Bank: first, simplest, not cheapest
ZA Bank launched retail crypto on 25 November 2024, which made it the first bank in Asia to do so. Orders go to HashKey Exchange and coins are held by HashKey Custody. You buy straight from your ZA HKD or USD balance, which makes it the lowest-friction option for anyone already banking there. The cost is the trade-off: secondary sources put the fee at a 1.5% platform fee plus HK$15 or US$1.99 commission per trade, with a minimum of about HK$600. Promotions have lowered the platform fee at times, including a 0% offer for new users between February and June 2026, now ended. Coins cannot be withdrawn. Full details in our ZA Bank review.
Mox: Standard Chartered's virtual bank joins in
Mox, the Standard Chartered-led virtual bank, launched crypto trading on 28 January 2026, also via HashKey Exchange. It offers BTC, ETH and now SOL, with market and good-till-cancelled limit orders and USD settlement. Its official promotion page advertises $0 buy commission "from now until 31 Dec 2026". The standard rate afterwards is unclear: secondary sources variously cite 1% or 1.25% for basic customers and 0.4% or 0.5% for Elite. Like ZA, Mox does not support on-chain transfers in or out.

Futu and PantherTrade: the broker with its own exchange
Futu Securities was the first Hong Kong broker to launch zero-commission crypto trading, on 1 August 2024, with a HK$80 or US$10 minimum. Futu has since built PantherTrade, an SFC-licensed platform (CE number BUY578) that began full operations in March 2026, and part of Futu's crypto business has moved there. We could not confirm the current fee schedule, so treat "zero commission" as a launch offer until you see it in the app. Secondary reports say Futu accepts USDT deposits since May 2025 and received SFC approval for virtual-asset margin financing in June 2026. More in the Futu and PantherTrade review.
Tiger Brokers and YAX: clearest fee page
Tiger publishes the most transparent schedule of the group: no commission, no platform fee, and a handling fee of 0.05% of trade value. Retail clients can trade five coins (BTC, ETH, SOL, AVAX and LINK), while professional investors get 20. Trading is in USD, with in-app HKD-to-USD conversion settling the same day, and Tiger says fund withdrawals are free (your bank may charge). Whether coins can be moved in or out is not stated; under the omnibus model, expect fiat only.
Victory Securities and VictoryX: the one that lets coins move
Victory Securities, listed on HKEX GEM (8540), was the first licensed corporation approved for virtual-asset dealing and advice to retail clients in November 2023. Through its VictoryX app it offers "20+ crypto", charges 0.2% commission per order with no minimum plus a 0.02% platform fee (minimum US$2, maximum US$100), and describes itself as the first brokerage to support token transfers in and out. Withdrawal fees are published per coin; for example 0.00006 BTC for the first withdrawal of the day. Deposit and withdrawal processing runs 9am to 6pm on weekdays. If moving coins to your own wallet matters to you, this is the brokerage route to look at.
HSBC: ETFs, not coins
HSBC Hong Kong does not offer spot crypto. Since 2023 it has let customers trade virtual-asset ETFs listed on HKEX, which today include spot Bitcoin ETFs such as ChinaAMC 3042, Harvest 3439 and Bosera HashKey 3008. HSBC is also one of the first two HKMA-licensed stablecoin issuers, and has named its HKD coin HSBC RedCoin, planned for PayMe and the HSBC HK app. As of October 2026 HSBC's own page says it has not yet issued any stablecoin in Hong Kong. If ETFs suit you, see Bitcoin ETFs in Hong Kong.
Can you withdraw coins from a bank or broker app?
Mostly, no. This surprises more users than any fee. The SFC and HKMA circular that lets intermediaries offer crypto through omnibus accounts at licensed platforms specifies that clients deposit and withdraw fiat only. In practice that means your Bitcoin at ZA Bank or Mox is a position you can buy and sell for dollars, not coins you can send to a hardware wallet, another exchange or a friend. Victory Securities is the clear exception, and Futu's reported USDT deposits suggest the picture is changing at some brokers, but you should check the app rather than assume.
Who suits which app
There is no single best Hong Kong crypto bank or broker app; the right one depends on what you already have and what you want to do with the coins.
- A ZA Bank customer buying a few thousand dollars of Bitcoin gets the simplest experience, but should compare the 1.5% plus HK$15 per trade with a licensed exchange if purchases become regular.
- A Mox customer can buy BTC, ETH or SOL with no buy commission until the end of 2026, then needs to check what the standard rate will be.
- An active Futu or Tiger investor already funding a securities account avoids a separate deposit. Tiger's 0.05% is the cheapest published fee here.
- Someone who wants coins in their own wallet should look at Victory or a licensed exchange, not a bank app.
- A family holding everything in a brokerage account may prefer a spot Bitcoin ETF over coins: same account, normal stock settlement, no wallet questions.
Pros
- No new account if you already bank or invest there
- Funded directly from your HKD or USD balance
- Trades routed to SFC-licensed platforms
- Familiar app, statements and customer service
Cons
- Usually no on-chain withdrawals
- Fewer coins than a licensed exchange, far fewer than offshore
- Some fees only visible inside the app
- Promotional pricing can end, e.g. Mox on 31 Dec 2026

Bank and broker apps are the easiest way to own some Bitcoin in Hong Kong, not the cheapest or the most flexible.
Tiger's published 0.05% and Victory's coin transfers show how much these apps differ. Before you tap buy, check two things in the app: the full fee on your trade size, and whether you can ever move the coins out.
One last check applies to every route on this page: make sure you are using the real app. The SFC alert list includes impersonation sites for licensed platforms, and HashKey alone had 39 look-alike domains flagged in August 2026. Download from the official app stores, and confirm each partner platform on the SFC licensed list.
Frequently asked questions
Which Hong Kong banks let you buy crypto?
As of October 2026, the two banks offering retail crypto trading in their apps are ZA Bank (since November 2024) and Mox (since January 2026). Both route orders to HashKey Exchange, an SFC-licensed platform. HSBC does not offer spot crypto; its customers can buy SFC-authorised crypto ETFs listed on HKEX instead.
What are ZA Bank’s crypto fees?
Secondary sources report a 1.5% platform fee plus a commission of HK$15 or US$1.99 per trade, with a minimum trade of about HK$600. Promotions have cut the platform fee at times. ZA’s own crypto page did not show the schedule when we checked, so confirm the fee in the app before you trade.
How much does Futu charge for crypto trading?
Futu launched crypto trading on 1 August 2024 with zero commission and a minimum of HK$80 or US$10. Since 2026 crypto business has moved to PantherTrade, Futu’s own SFC-licensed platform, and we could not confirm the current fee schedule. Check the Futubull app before trading.
Can I withdraw crypto from Futu or ZA Bank to my own wallet?
Generally no. Under SFC and HKMA rules for brokers and banks running omnibus accounts at licensed platforms, clients deposit and withdraw fiat only, and ZA Bank and Mox are reported not to support on-chain transfers. Victory Securities is one of the few brokerage routes that says it supports token transfers in and out.
Is it better to use a bank app or a crypto exchange?
A bank or broker app is simpler if you already have the account and just want price exposure to Bitcoin or Ether. A licensed exchange such as HashKey or OSL usually costs less, offers more order types and lets you withdraw coins to your own wallet. See HashKey vs OSL.
Is HSBC crypto-friendly in Hong Kong?
HSBC Hong Kong lets customers trade HKEX-listed virtual asset ETFs but does not offer spot crypto. Its HKD stablecoin, HSBC RedCoin, received an HKMA licence and is planned for PayMe and the HSBC HK app, but as of October 2026 HSBC says it has not yet issued any stablecoin.
Sources
- Tiger Brokers HK: Virtual assets · checked 6 Oct 2026
- Mox: Crypto $0 buy fee promotion · checked 6 Oct 2026
- Victory Securities: Fee schedule · checked 6 Oct 2026
- ZA Bank: Retail crypto launch announcement · Nov 2024
- SFC: Lists of virtual asset trading platforms · checked 6 Oct 2026
- HSBC: Stablecoins (HSBC RedCoin) · checked 6 Oct 2026
Ready for your first coin?
Sign-up and the ID check take a few minutes. Then buy Bitcoin, Ether or USDT with Visa, Mastercard or Apple Pay.
It is not licensed by Hong Kong’s SFC, so local investor protection does not apply. For HKD and FPS deposits, use a licensed platform.