Central
Pier 7 ATM, Queen’s Road offices and OTC.
MTR · Central · Hong Kong stn · Thin Open area guideSheung Wan
Laundromat ATMs and the money-changer safety story.
MTR · Sheung Wan · ATMs only Open area guideAdmiralty
Staffed counters at Admiralty Centre, no machines.
MTR · Admiralty · Shops only Open area guideWan Chai
Hennessy Road ATMs and the HKCEC crypto events.
MTR · Wan Chai · Exhibition Centre · ATMs only Open area guideCauseway Bay
Island hub: a buy-and-sell flagship and several shops.
MTR · Causeway Bay · Hub Open area guideNorth Point
A dozen ATMs along King’s Road, no staffed shop.
MTR · North Point · Tin Hau · ATMs only Open area guideQuarry Bay
14 ATMs from Tai Koo to Chai Wan, home of the SFC.
MTR · Quarry Bay · Tai Koo · ATMs only Open area guideKennedy Town & Southern
16 ATMs across the Western end, Aberdeen and Ap Lei Chau.
MTR · Kennedy Town · South Horizons · ATMs only Open area guideTsim Sha Tsui
Chungking Mansions, K11 and two buy-back machines.
MTR · Tsim Sha Tsui · East TST · Hub Open area guideJordan
Five ATMs on lower Nathan Road, a walk from TST.
MTR · Jordan · ATMs only Open area guideYau Ma Tei
Laundromat ATMs on Kansu Street and Tung On Street.
MTR · Yau Ma Tei · ATMs only Open area guideMong Kok
The densest cluster: 608 Nathan Road, 16 ATMs, 4 shop brands.
MTR · Mong Kok · Prince Edward · Hub Open area guideSham Shui Po
12 ATMs and hardware wallets in the computer arcades.
MTR · Sham Shui Po · Cheung Sha Wan · ATMs only Open area guideKwun Tong
Kowloon East: shops, a buy-back ATM and Kowloon Bay.
MTR · Kwun Tong · Kowloon Bay · Hub Open area guideSha Tin
A Shatin Plaza shop plus ATMs in Tai Wai and Ma On Shan.
MTR · Sha Tin · Tai Wai · Small hub Open area guideTai Po
Five ATMs; the nearest cash-out is in Sheung Shui.
MTR · Tai Po Market · ATMs only Open area guideTsuen Wan
The NT’s biggest cluster: 17 ATMs and two shops.
MTR · Tsuen Wan · Tsuen Wan West · Hub Open area guideYuen Long
11 ATMs in Yuen Long and Tin Shui Wai, one buys back.
MTR · Yuen Long · Tin Shui Wai · Hub Open area guideTuen Mun
Eight ATMs incl. a buy-back machine, no shops.
MTR · Tuen Mun · Light Rail · ATMs only Open area guideTseung Kwan O
Six ATMs across TKO, Hang Hau and Sai Kung.
MTR · Tseung Kwan O · Hang Hau · ATMs only Open area guideSheung Shui & Fanling
A border-town shop and a buy-back ATM.
MTR · Sheung Shui · Fanling · Hub Open area guideTung Chung & Airport
No machines at all; where the nearest options are.
MTR · Tung Chung · Airport · Underserved Open area guide- Central3 ATM · 1 shop
- Sheung Wan3 ATM
- Admiralty0 ATM · 2 shop
- Wan Chai6 ATM
- Causeway Bay4 ATM · 4 shop
- North Point12 ATM
- Quarry Bay14 ATM
- Kennedy Town & Southern16 ATM
- Tsim Sha Tsui10 ATM · 4 shop
- Jordan5 ATM
- Yau Ma Tei6 ATM
- Mong Kok16 ATM · 4 shop
- Sham Shui Po12 ATM
- Kwun Tong11 ATM · 2 shop
- Sha Tin7 ATM · 1 shop
- Tai Po5 ATM
- Tsuen Wan17 ATM · 2 shop
- Yuen Long11 ATM · 1 shop
- Tuen Mun8 ATM
- Tseung Kwan O6 ATM
- Sheung Shui & Fanling5 ATM · 1 shop
- Tung Chung & Airport0 ATM
How many Bitcoin ATMs are there in Hong Kong?
Hong Kong is one of the few places in Asia where you can still walk up to a Bitcoin ATM on an ordinary shopping street. On 6 October 2026 we downloaded the machine lists of the three operators that publish them and checked the smaller players one by one. COINHERO lists 88 machines, CoinUnit 77 and Localcoin 34, and One Satoshi runs another 3, for a total of about 202. The South China Morning Post put the number at 236 in September 2026, quoting the tracker Coin ATM Radar. Most of the gap comes from HK Bitcoin ATM, whose website still lists eight sites but has not been updated since 2018, and from Nitroswap machines nobody has been able to confirm.
One caveat matters more than any number: these counts come from operator lists, not site visits. A machine on a list is not proof that it is switched on today. On the map above, red pins are hubs with both machines and staffed shops, white pins are machine-only districts, and grey means nothing is listed at all.
Don’t picture a bank lobby. Most machines sit inside 24-hour self-service laundromats, claw-machine arcades and shopping centres, with a handful in serviced-apartment lobbies, industrial-building entrances and even adult shops. The SCMP described them as concentrated in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui, Wan Chai and Quarry Bay. Our list-based count backs most of that, though Wan Chai proper has only six machines, against twelve in North Point and fourteen from Quarry Bay to Chai Wan.
The four operators: fees, coins and buy-back
Which network you use matters more than how many machines it has. COINHERO is the only one with machines that buy crypto back, and it publishes its fees most clearly. CoinUnit is nearly as big but only shows its fee on the screen. Localcoin is an Australian operator that arrived in February 2025. One Satoshi is mainly a chain of staffed shops, and its three ATMs are a side line. The table summarises what each operator’s own website said on 6 October 2026.
| Operator | Machines | Buy fee | Sell | Coins and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| COINHERO | 88 | 13% + HK$100 (members 6.5%) | 8 machines 13% + HK$25 | BTC, ETH, BCH, DOGE, XAUt; HK$100/500/1,000 notes, first note HK$500 or 1,000 |
| CoinUnit | 77 | Not published; shown on screen | Online form | BTC, ETH, DOGE, LTC, TRX; HK$500/1,000 notes only |
| Localcoin | 34 | 13.5% + HK$23 in machine data (FAQ says 5–8%) | None | BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, DOGE, LTC, ADA |
| One Satoshi | 3 | Not stated | Not stated | Tsuen Wan, Sham Shui Po, Tin Shui Wai |
Source: operator websites, checked 6 October 2026. Localcoin’s site contradicts itself; we show the higher machine-data figure alongside the FAQ wording.
A few details are easy to miss. COINHERO’s minimum is HK$500 (HK$100 for BCH) and the unregistered cap is HK$100,000 per transaction. Its FAQ also mentions machines that take US dollars (US$20 plus 13%) and euros, but the locator doesn’t say where they are. CoinUnit’s minimum is also HK$500, and it doesn’t buy back at the machine; you submit a request on its website instead. Localcoin says plainly that it does not offer selling on its ATMs, so all 34 of its kiosks are buy-only. Bitcoin Depot announced a Hong Kong launch in November 2025, but we have not found a single confirmed machine.
The 8 ATMs that buy Bitcoin back
Selling is where the choice collapses. As of 6 October 2026, only these eight machines are flagged buy-and-sell on any operator list. All are COINHERO, and the count fell from nine at the end of September when the Hang Hau machine in Tseung Kwan O switched to buy-only. Selling costs 13% plus HK$25. Addresses are shown exactly as the operator publishes them.
Five of the eight are open around the clock: Causeway Bay, Laundry Xpress in Tsim Sha Tsui, Sheung Shui, Tuen Mun and Yuen Long. The K11 Art Mall and Yue Man Square units follow mall hours, and Grand Plaza in Mong Kok runs from 7am to midnight. Hong Kong Island has just one, Kowloon East has one, and big districts such as Sha Tin, Tai Po, Tsuen Wan and Tseung Kwan O have none. HK Bitcoin ATM’s old website claims six more two-way sites, but we don’t treat a site frozen in 2018 as evidence of working machines.

How to use a Bitcoin ATM in Hong Kong
The flow below follows what the operators document; screens differ from brand to brand. The one thing you must have before you go is a wallet you control. The machine sends coins to whatever address you show it and holds nothing for you. A phone wallet app or a hardware wallet both work, as long as the address is yours.
- Check the machine and the fee
Confirm on the operator’s site that the machine is still listed, when it is open and whether it is buy-only. CoinUnit only shows its fee on screen, so read it before you press confirm.
- Open your own wallet
Pick the right coin (for example BTC) in your wallet app and display its receiving QR code. Never use a QR code someone sent you.
- Choose the coin and scan
Select buy, choose the coin and hold your QR code to the scanner. Check that the first and last characters of the address on screen match your wallet.
- Verify
Small trades usually need only a phone number or SMS code. Above HK$100,000 per transaction, COINHERO requires HKID or passport, a selfie and a fingerprint.
- Insert notes
At COINHERO the first note must be HK$1,000 or HK$500; CoinUnit only takes HK$500 and HK$1,000. The screen shows how much crypto you get after fees.
- Confirm and keep the receipt
The machine broadcasts the transaction. Bitcoin shows in your wallet once it has block confirmations. Keep the receipt or transaction ID in case you need the operator.
Selling runs the other way. On a two-way machine you choose sell and enter an amount, the machine shows a receiving address, you send coins from your own wallet, and cash comes out once the network confirms. Follow the on-screen steps, which vary by machine. Because you wait for confirmations, selling takes longer than buying, so think about where you will stand while you wait, especially in an unstaffed laundromat late at night.
Do you need ID at a Bitcoin ATM?
Plenty of people pick an ATM because they assume there is no paperwork. In practice it depends on who runs the machine and how much you put in. COINHERO needs no registration below HK$100,000 per transaction. Above that, you register with email, an SMS one-time code, HKID or passport, a selfie and a fingerprint. Localcoin has a phone confirmation and ID-verification flow sent by SMS link but does not publish the thresholds in its static pages. CoinUnit publishes no ID threshold.
Not showing a card at the machine does not make a trade anonymous. Machines have cameras, phone numbers are logged, and every Bitcoin transfer is visible on a public ledger. If the goal is to avoid your bank’s questions, an ATM won’t solve that, and splitting a large sum into smaller deposits to stay under a threshold is exactly the pattern money-laundering investigators look for. We don’t give advice on getting round identity checks.
Bitcoin ATM fees, worked out
ATMs are the most expensive way to buy crypto in Hong Kong. Put HK$5,000 into a COINHERO machine as an unregistered user and 13% (HK$650) comes off first, then the HK$100 fixed fee, leaving about HK$4,250 of Bitcoin. That is a 15% haircut. The smaller the amount, the worse it gets: on a HK$500 purchase the fixed fee alone is a fifth of your money. The bars below compare published fees on a HK$5,000 Bitcoin purchase.
Selling is no cheaper. Sell HK$5,000 of Bitcoin at COINHERO and you walk away with about HK$4,325 after 13% and HK$25. Operators point to rent, cash logistics and price risk, and those costs are real. Still, for most people a licensed platform funded by FPS costs a rounding error by comparison. What an ATM sells is speed, cash and minimal paperwork, and you have to decide whether that is worth fifteen per cent.
Bitcoin ATM scams and personal safety
In September 2026 the SCMP reported that “grey-market” crypto ATMs in laundromats and claw arcades can turn users into fraud victims. The reason is simple. A machine converts cash into a blockchain transfer that cannot be reversed, so a scammer only has to persuade someone to carry cash to a machine and scan the scammer’s QR code. In the US, the FBI recorded more than US$388 million in crypto-ATM fraud losses in 2025. Hong Kong has no ATM-specific figure yet, but police say online investment fraud reached 5,135 cases in 2025 with HK$3.58 billion lost, about a third of it involving virtual assets.
A Bitcoin ATM makes sense in one narrow case: you already have your own wallet, you want to turn a small amount of cash into crypto on the spot, and you accept paying well over ten per cent.
Otherwise, licensed platforms and bank or broker apps are cheaper and safer. The machine is rarely the real danger. The person telling you to go to it usually is.
Physical safety is the other issue. Most machines are in unstaffed 24-hour shops, and carrying a large amount of cash at night or waiting a long time for confirmations makes you a target. Between December 2025 and March 2026 there were at least three robberies involving large sums of cash around money changers in Sheung Wan, and a crypto shop owner was attacked at closing time at 608 Nathan Road in Mong Kok. For large amounts, use a bank transfer.
What the coming dealer licence means for ATMs
Right now there is no licence written specifically for crypto ATMs in Hong Kong. You will read that operators need a Money Service Operator (MSO) licence from Customs, but the MSO regime covers currency exchange and remittance; a machine that only swaps cash for crypto falls outside it. We also found no government order removing machines, unlike Singapore.
That is about to change. On 24 December 2025 the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau and the SFC published conclusions to create an SFC-licensed regime for virtual asset dealing, covering conversions between crypto and fiat “through physical locations and/or other platforms”. Government papers group crypto shops and ATM networks together as the unregulated physical market, so machines are very likely in scope. The proposals include HK$5 million in paid-up capital, and there will be no transitional or deemed-licence period. The government has said repeatedly that the bill will come in 2026, but as of 6 October 2026 it had not been gazetted or introduced into the Legislative Council.
For users that means two things. On the day the regime starts, unlicensed operators must stop, so some machines may go dark overnight; don’t leave balances in any account linked to an ATM network. And licensed operators will likely tighten identity checks and monitoring, so the “no registration” band will probably shrink. More background is in Is crypto legal in Hong Kong?
Buying Bitcoin with cash: the options beyond ATMs
There are three ways to buy Bitcoin with cash in Hong Kong. An ATM is instant and the most expensive. A staffed shop such as One Satoshi, VBIT or Crypto HK quotes you a price across the counter and is usually cheaper for bigger amounts, though it is not SFC-licensed either and carrying cash has its own risks; see our crypto shop guide. The third is the least exciting and by far the cheapest: pay the cash into your own bank account and fund a licensed platform by FPS.

Take a retiree in Tuen Mun with HK$20,000 in cash who wants some Bitcoin to hold for years. Feeding it all into COINHERO’s Tuen Mun #3 as an unregistered user costs about HK$2,700 (13% is HK$2,600, plus HK$100); as a registered member, from about HK$1,300. Paying the cash into a bank and buying through a licensed platform costs tens of dollars, and the coins can stay with an SFC-regulated custodian or move to his own wallet. One trip to the bank saves him more than a thousand dollars. For every way to buy, see buying Bitcoin in Hong Kong.
Bitcoin ATMs by area
Each area page lists every machine on the operator lists with its address, opening hours and nearest MTR station, plus the closest place to sell or talk to a person. Here are the main areas by machine count on 6 October 2026.
Kowloon: Mong Kok (16 machines, 1 sell, four shop brands), Tsim Sha Tsui (10, 2 sell), Sham Shui Po (12), Kwun Tong and Kowloon Bay (11, 1 sell), Yau Ma Tei and Jordan. Hung Hom, Kowloon City, Kai Tak and Wong Tai Sin add about 24 more that don’t have their own page yet.
Hong Kong Island: Causeway Bay (4, with the island’s only 24-hour sell machine), North Point (12), Quarry Bay to Chai Wan (14), Kennedy Town and Southern (16) and Wan Chai (6). Admiralty has no machines, only staffed counters.
New Territories: Tsuen Wan (17, the most anywhere but none that buy back), Yuen Long and Tin Shui Wai (11, 1 sell), Tuen Mun (8, 1 sell), Sha Tin (7) and Sheung Shui and Fanling (5, 1 sell). Tung Chung and the airport have none; the nearest listed machine on the islands is on Cheung Chau.
To check a machine’s current status, go to the official lists of COINHERO, CoinUnit or Localcoin. We re-check the data monthly.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a Bitcoin ATM in Hong Kong?
Yes, roughly 202 of them. That is the total on the published lists of COINHERO (88), CoinUnit (77), Localcoin (34) and One Satoshi (3) as of 6 October 2026. Tsuen Wan, Mong Kok, Kennedy Town and the Quarry Bay stretch have the most; Tung Chung and the airport have none. Use the map at the top of this page or browse the area pages.
How much are Bitcoin ATM fees in Hong Kong?
High. COINHERO charges unregistered users 13% plus a fixed HK$100 to buy, and 13% plus HK$25 to sell; registered members pay 6.5%. Localcoin's machine data shows 13.5% plus HK$23. CoinUnit only shows its fee on the screen. Licensed platforms publish fees of roughly 0.05% to 0.29% by comparison.
Can you withdraw cash from a Bitcoin ATM?
Only at eight machines. As of 6 October 2026, the only operator-flagged two-way machines are COINHERO units in Causeway Bay, Tsim Sha Tsui (two), Mong Kok, Kwun Tong, Sheung Shui, Tuen Mun and Yuen Long, charging 13% plus HK$25. CoinUnit handles sales through an online form and Localcoin does not buy back at all. See our cash-out guide for cheaper routes.
Do Hong Kong Bitcoin ATMs need ID?
It depends on the operator and the amount. COINHERO needs no registration below HK$100,000 per transaction; above that you register with email, an SMS code, HKID or passport, a selfie and a fingerprint. Localcoin runs a phone confirmation and ID flow but does not publish its thresholds. No ID check at the machine does not mean the trade is untraceable.
Are there USDT ATMs in Hong Kong?
We could not confirm one. COINHERO sells BTC, ETH, BCH, DOGE and XAUt; CoinUnit sells BTC, ETH, DOGE, LTC and TRX. Localcoin's FAQ mentions USDT, but none of its 34 kiosks is flagged as selling it. Offering USDT to the public has been restricted since the Stablecoins Ordinance took effect. See how to buy USDT.
What should I do if the coins don’t arrive?
Bitcoin needs block confirmations, so a short delay is normal. Keep the receipt and transaction ID, check the address on the receipt matches your own wallet, and contact the operator with those details. If someone else gave you the QR code you scanned, treat it as fraud and call the 18222 Anti-Scam Helpline straight away.
Sources
- COINHERO — ATM locations · checked 6 Oct 2026
- COINHERO — FAQ (fees, limits, registration) · checked 6 Oct 2026
- CoinUnit — FAQ and machine list · checked 6 Oct 2026
- Localcoin Hong Kong — locations and fees · checked 6 Oct 2026
- SCMP — how grey-market crypto ATMs can turn users into fraud victims · Sep 2026
- HKSAR Government — conclusions on regulating VA dealing and custody · 24 Dec 2025
Skip the 13% machine fee
Buy Bitcoin instantly with Visa, Mastercard or Apple Pay on an international platform, for 0.49% to 4.99% plus a service charge.
It is not licensed by Hong Kong’s SFC, so local investor protection does not apply. For HKD and FPS deposits, use a licensed platform.